Pie & Lattes

I have now had my wonderful gym membership since October and it’s the Full Works! I get unlimited access to the Gym, Swimming Pool and to top it off – ALL CLASSES!

So, that being the case – Why have I not attended any yet? Hmm. It’s one thing getting my head down in the gym, peddling away and avoiding all eye contact. It’s a whole new ball game when you’re in a group all doing the same thing. You compare; fitness level, size, age, ability, how much is that woman sweating… am I working hard enough. Oh Gosh, they’re looking at me flailing in the back.

There we are. But it’s the closest I’m going to get to nabbing me a Personal Trainer so I took the plunge – literaly! I attended Aqua Aerobics, mainly because by most of my body being under the water it’s a lot less to see and I was pretty sure the other attendees would be Mega-Old so less chance they’d Out-Fitness me. And it wasn’t so bad.

Then came Bokwa. First, let’s start with Zumba. It appeals as it’s a choreography-ish dance workout, but the tunes suck. I do NOT like Latin/Salsa music, sorry guys! Then Zumba got cancelled – woop. And replaced with Bokwa – Double Woop! Bokwa is apparently a combo of Light Boxing and Kwaito Dance – Lots of jumping about, kicking and twisting like a crazy person. Now, the gym list it as High Intensity and that scared me so two months on I finally booked myself in. And it was AMAZING! You can pick and choose how hard you do each move – either toe bounce or full on jump for example – so when it was a little tough, back to the bounce. Rested? Jump away!

I even booked straight on for the following week!

Now I have a week off work too, so thought I’d try out a few more classes – Today was Pilates!

This was Low Intensity on the planner so no massive bounds in the weight loss department, but I’ve been feeling pretty sore in the back and legs so figured a nice stretching class wouldn’t do any harm. Again, I managed to follow along and do all the poses and moves. Not once did I have to fall back on to the “Half-Hearted” version of the moves that they put in for the Not-So-Fitties! Challenge Achieved.

I am so pleased I finally can not just keep up with a new class of varying difficulties but also get praised by the Instructors for doing it well – This NEVER would have happened in the past, ever.

Back to booking some more classes now!

3 thoughts on “Pie & Lattes

Leave a Reply

